top of page
  • Satellite Evolution

Airbus OneWeb Satellites’ James Hinds to join Board of Space & Satellite Professionals International

Space & Satellite Professionals International (SSPI) today announced that James Hinds, CEO of Airbus OneWeb Satellites, has been appointed to serve on the association’s Board of Directors.

James Hinds, CEO of Airbus OneWeb

James Hinds was named CEO of Airbus OneWeb Satellites in January 2021, after serving as chief operating officer since the end of 2019. Prior to joining the company, he spent four years with Airbus Defence and Space in Toulouse, France, where he was responsible for strategic planning of its Space Systems business. Before that, he worked with Airbus and Boeing (and predecessor companies) in satellite engineering, production and project management.

Notable achievements include his responsibilities as Airbus program manager for the Hylas 1 satellite (a joint Airbus/India Space Research Organisation programme); as director responsible for payload research and development at Airbus including digital processors, active antennas and amplifier development; and as the lead verification engineer of Boeing’s 601HP satellite series. If you would like to hear more from James, he was featured in a recent SSPI podcast: Risk, Season 2: Rising to the Challenge.

“We are fortunate to have gained James as a member of our Board,” said executive director Robert Bell. “His career spans from the traditional space and satellite business as we have long known it to the next generation of large-scale constellations that will transform the value proposition of the industry.”

Continuing to serve on the SSPI Board of Directors are:

  • Thomas Van den Driessche, President & Chief Commercial Officer, ST Engineering iDirect (Chair)

  • Nicole Robinson, President, Ursa Space Systems (President)

  • Michael Antonovich

  • Jonathan Crawford, President & CEO, The SPACECONNECTION

  • Tony Gingiss, COO, Virgin Orbit

  • Katherine Gizinski, Chief Executive Officer, Mansat

  • Jonathan Hofeller, Vice President of Starlink and Commercial Sales, SpaceX

  • Christopher Johnson, President, Boeing Space Systems International

  • Aaron Lewis, Vice President, Corporate Communications & Government Relations, Arianespace, Inc.

  • Sharyn Nerenberg, Director of Corporate Communications, Hughes Network Systems

  • Reza Rasoulian, Executive Advisor, Carnival Cruise Lines

  • Mike Safyan, Vice President of Launch, Planet

  • Dr. Walter Scott, Chief Technology Officer, Maxar

  • Billie Sims, Vice President, Government Programs, Hunter Communications

  • James Trevelyan, Vice President, Enterprise & Emerging Markets, Speedcast

  • Jeremy Turpin, CTO and Co-Founder, Isotropic Systems